News

VEGAN? WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT WINE

VEGAN? WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT WINE

There's no avoiding it. Many people are opting to eat less meat and animal derived products in a bid to live a healthier life or to be more sympathetic to the global environment. Whether a decision to move towards a Vegan diet is made out of choice or necessity, there are some products, like wine that can cause a degree of confusion.

'Wine is made from grapes, so why wouldn't it be vegan?'

Traditionally, winemakers used a number of natural animal products when making wine. These never ended up in the end product, as they were used to "fine" or remove unstable elements of the wine which were then filtered out. These (slightly strange) fining agents included egg white, isinglass (fish bladder!) and casein (milk protein). In general, these tended to be used more in red wine that white.
 
Happily for vegan wine-lovers, these days there are other non-animal products that winemakers can, and do use. In fact, they are often better at doing the job of fining. These might include bentonite (a type of clay), chickpea protein and silica.
 
Problematically, not many producers declare as a rule whether their wines are vegan or not, and there is no regulation requiring them too, which can complicate things! Jaded Palates is working on updating our wine listings to include this information as and when we get it from producers. In fact, if type ‘Vegan’ into the search bar you will be able to view all the wines that we stock that are guaranteed to be vegan.

CLICK HERE TO SHOP VEGAN WINES